Department of Chemistry was established in the year 1924 as a General Course under the stewardship of Prof. Jnanendranath Sen, the then Vice-Principal and a noted scholar of chemistry. Later on in 1946 it started the Honours course. Some of the notable past teachers were Prof. Himangshu Bhattacharyya, Prof. Himangshu Banerjee, Dr. Kshetra Prasad Sen Sharma, Late Prof. Kamalakanta Chakraborty, Prof. Debesh Ghosh, Prof. Sudhindranath Dey, Prof Gopal Chandra Ray, Prof. Renupada Koley, Prof. Sakti Bhattacharyya, Prof. Tapan Acharya, Prof. Partha Sen, Prof. Satyabrata Mukherjee to name a few. This department also boasts of a rich alumni some of whom have departed down the years. They are late Prof. Manindra Mohan Chakraborty, Dr. Jyotirmay Nandi (Scientist in USA), Dr.Jyotiprakash Chatterjee(Scientist in USA) , late Prof. Subir Basu Roy, Prof. Dilip Khamui,, Dr. Omprakash Chatterjee (Scientist, CGCRI),  Dr.Nijhuma Mondal (Scientist, CSIR laboratory), Dr. Bidisha Basu( presently working as a Research associate in IACS) Dr. Arijit Mukherjee(Scientist, IGIB), Dr. Subhas Laha ( Senior Manager, R&D), Dr. Biplab Banerjee, Dr. Abhijit Samanta (Assistant Professor at Neotia Institute of Technology Management and Science), Dr. Tirtha Som (Post –Doctoral Fellow in Berlin) Dr. Taraknath Burai, Dr. Biswanath Jana, Dr. Jisha Hazra (Presently in South Korea), Dr. Madhuri Mukherjee, Dr. Subhra Samanta and Dr. Tridib Mondal  (all  Post-doctoral fellows ) and many others working for their Ph.D’s and established in well  off positions in industry and  academia.


  • Tirtha Som  (student  of this department in 2002-2004) was awarded  Indian Science Congress Young Scientist Award for the year 2010-2011 in Materials Science and joined  as a Post-doctorate in the Dept. of Chemistry, Humboldt University, Berlin from 1-Feb-2011.
  • Indranil Bhattacharyya, Asst. Professor in Chemistry obtained a DST-SERB Fast Track Project in April, 2011 having a sanctioned amount of  Rs.17, 64,000/-
  • Jisha Hazra student  from  (2001-2004)  awarded Post-Dooctoral  Fellowship in USA in 2011 and presently working as a Post doctoral Fellow in South Korea
  • Following students   successfully qualified  in JAM and getting admitted into  various  IIT’s
  • Tirtha Som- IIT  Roorkee in 2004
  • Biplab Manna-IIT  Roorkee in 2008
  • Monalisa Kundu –IIT  Guwahati  in 2009
  • Utpal  Nath-IIT  Madras in 2009
  • Sridip Parui-IIT  Delhi in 2011
  • Kaushik Chakraborty-IIT Bombay in 2012
  • Santu Das- IISER Kolkata in 2012
  • Rajesh Ghosh – IIT  Guwahati in 2012
  • Debashis Sariket –BHU in 2012
  • Goutam Ghosh-IIT Madras in 2014
  • Subrata Chandra-IIT Hyderabad in 2015
  • Sukanya  Bera –IIT  Kharagpur in 2015
  • Sanchita  Karmakar – IIT Guwahati in 2015
  • Sk. Nazmul Hasan Md. Dostagir. IIT      Indore in 2016
  • Tamasri  Senapati-IIT  Bombay in 2016

Besides these many alumni of this department  are working as Junior and Senior Research Fellows in different institutes around India for their Ph.D’s and many are employed all over India in academic institutions as teachers and scientists and also  in industry.


1. UGC sponsored Seminar in Collaboration with Prasanta Chandra Mahalanobis College
2. Chemistry Reunion

1.      UGC sponsored Seminar in collaboration with Dept. of Zoology, Narasinha Dutt College in 2011

2.      Science Academies Lecture Workshop in 2015

3.      Student Seminars in 2016

4.      Departmental Picnic at Kolaghat in 2016

5.      Academic visit to Eastern India Science  Fair at BITM, Kolkata by students and teachers in 2016

Courses Offered

No. of Seats : Click Here

Admission Criteria : Click Here

Syllabus :  pdf

No. of Seats : Click Here

Admission Criteria : Click Here

Syllabus :  pdf


Routine for the session 2016-17pdf




Sl No. Name Designation Email
1. Dr. Indranil Bhattacharyya Associate Professor
2. Dr. Susmita Podder Assistant Professor
3. Dr.Pradip Kumar Tapaswi Assistant Professor
4. Dr. Raka Biswas Assistant Professor
5. Monami Maiti Assistant Professor
6. Suman Kumar Maity Assistant Professor
7. Ms. Soumi Majumdar Part-Time Teacher


Sl No. Name Designation Email
1. Mr. Himangshu Bera Lab Assistant
2. Mr. Pradip Adhikary Lab Assistant