Year of establishment : 1924

Department of Botany, Narasinha Dutt College is one of the oldest Botany Departments of West Bengal. The department has a glorious history of its growth and development ever since its inception. The Honours stream was established in 1985 under the leadership of the then principal Prof. Keshab Mukhopadhaya, Prof. (Dr.) Arun Kumar Sharma, Late Prof. Subhas Chandra Dutta and other plant scientists. Reputed teachers and botanists like Prof. Raj Kumar Sen, Prof. Mohini Mohan Chatterjee, Prof. Narayan Krishna Dhar, Prof. Srinibas Debnath, Prof. Probhat Dutta, Dr. Sona Sen, Dr. Animesh Ghorai were the faculties of the department. Late Sri Srimanta Pradhan, Late Sri Nemai Das, Late Sri Netai Pal were associated with this department as laboratory attendants.  The department has its own well equipped laboratories, herbarium, museum and seminar library.

So far about 500 students of the department have received their B.Sc. (Honours) Degree from University of Calcutta. Most of the pass-out students are established in different professional fields like teaching (in schools/colleges/universities), research, government and non-government sectors, social service, etc. In this respect, the names of Dr. Sudha Gupta (University of Kalyani), Dr. Debajyoti Bhattacharya (Silchar University), Dr. Angshuman Saha (Charuchandra College, Kolkata), Dr. Madhumanti Chatterjee (Moulana Azad College, Kolkata), Dr. Swadesh Sarkar (Chandannagar Govt. College), Md. Rakibur Rahaman (Deputy Magistrate, Govt. of West Bengal), and Mrs. Tania Dutta (Assistant Laboru Commissioner, Govt. of West Bengal) can be mentioned.

Backbone of the department are the present teachers, namely  Dr. Tandra Das (Head of the Department), Dr. Ashalata D’Rozario, Prof. Sanjib Kumar Saha, Dr. Aditi Saha, Dr. Pampa Chakraborty, Prof. Asim Kumar Chaudhuri (Govt. approved Part-time teacher) with specialization in different fields of Plant Science (Cytogenetics, Microbiology, Palaeobotany, Taxonomy, Ecology, Instrumentation, etc.). There are a number of national and international publications by the faculty members of the department. The laboratories are taken care of Sri Sabuj Mukherjee (Lab Attendant) and Sri Prasenjit Roy (part-time lab attendant).


  1. Dr. Ashalata D’Rozario was selected as
  2. Assistant Secretary of International Organization of Palaeobotany (Calcutta Chapter)
  3. Treasurer of Botanical Society of Bengal, India.
  1. Dr. Pampa Chakraborty reviewed research papersin following journals:
  2. i. Aerobiologia (Springer Netherlands) – February 2016.
  3. ii. Current Science (India) – October 2015

iii. Journal of Integrative Agriculture (Elsevier, China) –April 2015

  1. Sri Suprateem Mukherjee of Botany Honours 3rd Year was honoured in All India Essay Event, 2015 organised by UN information Centre for India & Bhutan.
  2. Smt. Oindrila Roy of Botany Honours 3rd Year received third prize for recitation in block level completion (2015) of West Bengal Youth Development Department.
  3. Sri Suman Roy of Botany Honours 1st Year is selected as regular football player of Mohammedan Sporting Club, Kolkata.


  1. Ph.D. Guidance (in Collaboration with University of Calcutta):

Dr. Ashalata D‘Rozario, Associate Professor in Botany

Research Area: Plant fossils namely Algae, Fungi, Bryophyte, Pteridophyte, Gymnosperms

Name of the Student:

  1. Soma Chattopadhyay (Awarded PhD in 2014)
  2. Ahinsuk Barua Enrolled in: 2013


1.  Long Excursion with Botany honours 2nd Year students.
2. Departmental re-union
3. Wall Magazine publication
4. Science Exhibition by the students
5. Parent-Teachers’ meet
6. Students’ Seminar
7. Departmental Seminar

1. Long Excursion to different phytogeographic regions: organized every year as a part of their curriculum of University of Calcutta for plant exploration and field work in different areas of Eastern & Western Himalayas, Dooars, Araku Valley (Andhra Pradesh), etc.

2. Departmental re-union : organized every year since 1990. This is an occasion, where present and past students get an opportunity to exchange their thoughts.

3. Science exhibition:  organized every year by honours students.

4. Wall Magazine ‘Camellia’:walled every year)

5. Parent-teachers’ Meet: organized every year since 2006 to discuss about the academic activities of the students and their future prospects of life.

6. Students’ Seminar : held in the department since 2006.

7. Departmental Seminar: presented by Eminent Botanists (e.g., Prof. (Dr.) Nirmalendu Samajpati, Dr. Madhusudan Mandal, Prof. (Dr.) Timir Baran Jha, Dr. Animesh Ghorai and Prof. (Dr.) Gour Gopal Maity)

8. Teachers’ Day: celebrated by the students of the department every year.

9. Our medicinal plant garden: maintained by the department in the college campus.

10. A token prize to the highest scorers in Botany Honours Part II and Part III in memory of Late Professor Srinibas Debnath, presented  by his family members.: awarded every year.

Courses Offered

No. of Seats : Click Here

Admission Criteria : Click Here

Syllabus :  pdf

No. of Seats : Click Here

Admission Criteria : Click Here

Syllabus :  pdf


Routine for the session 2016-17pdf




Sl No. Name Designation Email
1. Prof. Sanjib Kumar Saha Associate Professor
2. Dr. Tandra Das Assistant Professor
3. Dr. Aditi Saha Assistant Professor
4. Dr. Pampa Chakraborty Assistant Professor
5. Prof. Asim Chaudhuri Part-Time Lecturer (Govt. Approved)
6. Bapi Ghosh Guest lecturer
7. Apurba Mahanti Guest lecturer


Sl No. Name Designation Email
1. Sri Sabuj Mukherjee Laboratory Attendant